Nominate someone for a social justice award | Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle

Nominate someone for a social justice award 


The Jewish Community Relations Council of Milwaukee Jewish Federation is seeking nominees for its seventh annual Robert H. Friebert Social Justice Award.  

The award will be given to an individual who has demonstrated leadership, courage and compassion as a social justice advocate, while working to eliminate discrimination and injustice in the greater Milwaukee area. Attorney James H. Hall, Jr., won the inaugural award in 2015, Danae Davis in 2016, José A. Olivieri in 2017, Reggie Jackson and Fran Kaplan in 2018, Pardeep Singh Kaleka and Arno Michaelis in 2019, and Anita Johnson in 2020.   

Anita Johnson, past winner of the Robert H. Friebert Social Justice Award.

The honoree will be recognized at the JCRC’s Virtual Annual Meeting on June 17. Nomination forms can be found online at The deadline for submission is Friday, April 16.   

This award was created in memory of Milwaukee attorney and activist, Robert H. Friebert (1938-2013). He was driven to pursue social justice through the law and public service, and he believed deeply that everyone deserves equal social, economic and political rights. Friebert dedicated himself to the pursuit of social justice and the Jewish value of tikkun olam (repairing the world).   

For more information, contact Allison Hayden, Israel and Jewish Community Relations Council program associate, at 414-390-5724 or